The Local Garden of the Heart

I finally took a walk through a garden here in Aberdeen: The Cruickshank Botanical Garden on the campus at the Uni (university). It was a spectacularly sunny day which are rare of late, and the sun was at its’ characteristic low angle making most of the day the ‘photographer’s hour’. I strolled in through its small un-inviting gate; no wonder I haven’t been in here before- it doesn’t really announce itself to passerby.

Here I found a few unusual things: the first was this bench completely surrounded by the curtain-like branches of this tree.
IMG_1378

A enclosure of leaves and branches offered a quiet enclave. I sat and leaned back and looking up through the branches which showed their age in a angular and knobby way. They reminded me of when I was a working in a cardiac catheterization lab as a RN.

IMG_1377

During a typical procedure, the patient’s coronary arteries would be illuminated in bold relief on the monitors, revealing any sclerosis or blockages. Some patients had what I would describe as ‘ratty’ vessels; those so clotted with blockages that they looked like a string with a series of knots rather than smooth, tapering tubes.  As I looked at the tree branches above me, they looked like a ratty heart scan, and I pondered the condition of my own heart….what my heart cath would look like, but also how have the years worn my spirit. Is there a hardening of the heart? A hardening of the ‘categories’ that happens with age- When one looses an elasticity of life and must have things a certain way (my way!). Or when my ability to relate to others becomes brittle and unyielding.

I moved on from the bench and wandered a bit more and found something amazing and yet so simple: a grass labyrinth!! Whoever thought of this was brilliant- or just a bit low on funding.  IMG_1379

I continued my contemplative mood and walked the pathway of labyrinth and began thanking God for simple surprises and beauty like this place. A sundial marks the center of the circled pathways so has probably never been used to tell time… (ha-ha….that is a joke about the typical weather in Scotland in case you weren’t sure)

I then looked up a saw a wall graced with this pleasing vine and wished that I had a better camera than a cracked iPhone 4. (thinly veiled plea for sympathy)

IMG_1375

The vine certainly cheered up an otherwise regrettable example of 1960’s modernist architecture.

Wandering a little further and continuing to enjoy the relative quiet of this space, I was aware of how much I miss being in the woods and tromping around. Further on my wander, my eyes landed upon this

I stood captivated by the simplicity of a golden leaf spinning on a thread of spider web. Stunning gifts. What simple gifts have you found and delighted in of late?

5 thoughts on “The Local Garden of the Heart

  1. Love this: “A hardening of the ‘categories’ that happens with age- When one looses an elasticity of life and must have things a certain way (my way!). Or when my ability to relate to others becomes brittle and unyielding.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

